Favorite Book of the Month- January 2017

unknown

Summary:

Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here – it’s their last year at Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On is a love letter to love stories and the power of words – to every ‘chosen one’ who ever had more on their mind than saving the world…

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Genre: YA, Romance, Fantasy

Rate: 5 stars

This was one book the I was honestly not expecting to love but I am starting to realize the books that I am least excited to read are the ones I like the most. I loved Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell but after reading the summary for Carry On I decided that it was not my type of book. I assumed it would be boring and I would end up getting confused but because of reviews I have read and by how much I liked Fangirl I decided to try it.

For starters I loved the main character, Simon Snow. He was a bit weird and was totally unsure of himself when he was using magic, which is kind of ironic because he is supposed to save magic by using his own magic. The fact that he was a bit weird and awkward made this book so relatable because Rainbow Rowell was not portraying him as this superior chosen one who had no flaws. His friend was even better, Penelope did remind me of Hermoine at first, which concerned me, but throughout the book she completely grew to become her own person who was spunky and outgoing and…… ahhhh this book had so many good characters.

Baz. His POVs were my favorite. He seemed like this dark and mysterious character and then you get a glimpse inside his head and you instantly love him. Even if he is supposed to bad.

The last sentence of the summary perfectly describes the book and is what I loved most about this story. It is not all about Simon Snow saving the world because he is a teenager with other things going on in his mind.

I am going to stop there because since I am making this book my favorite of the month you  know I absolutely LOVED ALL 518 PAGES OF IT and you just have to read it to know why.

Leave a Reply

